Dolphin Song

IMG_7465

The Captain had given me permission to go to the bow of the boat to observe the Bottle-nosed Dolphins that had become curious by the presence of our boat. I jumped at the opportunity, however I became overwhelmed, they were close enough to touch and when I heard them communicate, it was beautiful and almost haunting.
Silvery bodies gracefully glided back and forth around the boat, shimmering in the pristine calm waters. Their clicks, whistles, trills and squeaks were fascinating.  These noises are made from their nasal air sacs, which are located just behind their blowhole.
I had just been serenaded by a Bottle-nosed Dolphin.  This Dolphin song is definitely one for the I-tunes hit list!!  

IMG_7481

Leave a Reply

