My first time

I received my 5.30 am wake up call, but I have to confess I had been awake since 4 am.  Lets be honest, who can sleep when there is so much excitement in the air, when outside the world has already awoken.  I quickly freshened up and grabbed my things as I rushed out the door, it was hard to contain the excitement within me.  I scoffed down a tasty muffin and washed it down with a quick coffee, I was keen to be on the road.

It was our first time in Africa, and I could not get enough of the spectacular sights, the aroma of the bush  and the symphony of sounds that nature provided.  Wow!! around every corner at every sighting, it seemed so surreal.  I felt as though I was living out my very own David Attenborough or National Geographic Film.  I was in awe of every living creature, the landscape and the environment.  Just when you had seen one incredible sighting, you could not imagine it could get any better, but that was yesterday….

We left our camp at 6am and 5 minutes into the drive our driver from Chobe Game Lodge, Madibu found fresh pug ¹marks on the track.  “Lion”,  as she pointed to the footprints of several animals that had left their imprint in the sand.  Within 1 minute from spotting the paw prints we came face to face  with a beautiful pride, no more than 2 to 3 feet from the vehicle.   It was my first time seeing Lions up close and it was amazing.  I felt as though I was in the presence of royalty, every inch of me felt their presence.

A regal male at the helm with his lady by his side he seemed in awe of her presence following her every move.

IMG_2595 - Copy

Handsome young adolescent males kept me mesmerised, so demure with their beautiful golden mohawks, the early signs of a mane.

Aunts and sisters gathered with youngsters close by.  The females of the pride had a special air about them with strong fore quarters and chiselled faces, they looked so powerful, you had a sense that they were efficient hunters.

 

To be given the opportunity to get a glimpse into the personal life of any animal is both a privilege and an honour.  To watch their mannerisms and interaction, simply heart warming.

 

4 thoughts on “My first time

Leave a Reply

